Living the Scout Law

I am proud to be an Eagle Scout.  I spent many hours between the age of 11 and 18 working on the rank advancements and merit badges required to achieve this award.  Those experiences helped shape the man I am.

Last week I had the chance to conduct a board of review for two young scouts.  The board of review is the formal meeting a scout has each time he has finished the work for his next rank.  These two boards of review were for the Tenderfoot badge (the first rank).  It was fun to see the nervousness and excitement in their eyes and answers.  During this short discussion, each scout is asked to repeat the Scout oath, law, slogan, and motto.  As I heard each boy recite these by memory, I wondered how much better the world would be if all of us committed to live these principles each day.  As you read them below, take a minute to reflect how you can apply them in your life today to be a better person.

Scout Slogan:  Do a good turn daily  – Take time to serve someone today.  It does not have to be something big…it may be a simple as a smile to someone who needs it.

Scout Motto:  Be prepared – Are you prepared for whatever life might bring today?  Will you be prepared for the opportunities that will come your way?

Scout Oath/Promise:

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; To help other people at all times; To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

I give my word the I will do my best to honor God and country….obey the scout law…help others…take care of my body, mind, and soul.  Imagine how much better this world would be if we could each strive to do those things each day!

Scout Law:

A scout is:  Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, Kind, Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty, Brave, Clean, Reverent.

My word is my bond.  I will stick by my friends or cause to the end…through thick and thin.  I will help others.  I will be friendly to those I interact with each day.  I will use my best manners and respect others.  I will be kind all.  I will be obedient to the laws of the land and the laws of God.  I will be happy…and seek to spread that cheerfulness to others!  I will be smart with my money.  I will be brave in the face of the difficulties in life.  I will be clean in body, mind, and spirit.  I will show reverence toward God.

Leave a comment